Broom’s Bloom Dairy: Delicious Ice Cream, Minus the Cross Contamination

IMG_2907.jpg

For those of you who don’t know what it’s like to live with a food allergy, you sure are lucky. My friends always want to meet up with me for lunch, but finding ways for me to safely eat out despite having allergies can sometimes be quite a hassle. Luckily for me, spending an afternoon dining at Broom’s Bloom Dairy with my best friend ended up being stress- (and anaphylaxis) free.

My best friend, Leah, attends school in New York, so there’s no way we can skip our regular meal-meetups whenever she’s in town. This past weekend, we decided to go to Broom’s to catch up with one another and our busy lives.

Broom’s Bloom Dairy is located in Churchville, Maryland, right on the very farm that provides its produce. The location has existed for the past three centuries; however, it only became a booming business in the most recent years, earning recognition from publications such as Baltimore Magazine and The Baltimore Sun.

Broom’s provides numerous food options, from cooked lamb to their signature pork sausage, but the location’s most popular menu choice is hinted in its name: ice cream. Their homemade ice cream comes in 100 different flavors, each rotating daily to be served. Leah and I knew without hesitation that the ice cream was what we wanted to try.

The location is very old-timey; a collaboration between Broom’s and Cracker Barrel would be more than expected. At the front counter sits a sign welcoming all guests, and noting that if you have food allergies, to alert the staff. When it came time to order, I did just that.

I ordered my ice cream in a size “very small” (which was, in fact, not very small, but actually more of a medium size), and told the cashier about my allergies. She made a note of the allergies on my order ticket, and handed it to one of the servers. Much to my enjoyment, that server immediately changed her gloves and grabbed a new ice cream scoop. She scooped my ice cream from the supply in the back, which was later explained to be kept strictly separate, as to avoid any chances of cross contamination. This made me happy to hear.

It made my stomach happy too.

I admit it. I am one of those people who consumes dairy despite being lactose-intolerant. My excuse is that I’m not allergic to cow’s milk, and therefore should exercise my ability to consume it without dying (there is a difference between being lactose-intolerant and having a milk allergy). The tingling in my stomach, however, was not associated with my intolerance, but with the internal joy it felt from having been served a delicious serving of homemade ice cream from a place that cares about its customers.

Leah and I sat for quite some time, chatting over our ice cream without having any fears of an allergic reaction.

And that my friends, is how public dining should be. Completely fearless.

One thought on “Broom’s Bloom Dairy: Delicious Ice Cream, Minus the Cross Contamination

Leave a Reply

